ddavidv
ddavidv PowerDork
10/29/16 3:08 p.m.

I've got someone interested in my E30 race car but would still like to have a track toy. I want something that handles really well like my E30 but has more power than my BMW's 167 horses while also being GRM priced. If anyone has suggestions outside "The Answer" I'm open to them.

That said, I've been browsing around looking at NA and NB turbo Miatas. Having driven a turbo NA Miata years ago I sort of know what I'm getting into. I don't give a hoot about SCCA classes so anything goes. I know Flyin' Miata is the go-to source but there are some other kits out there like Greddy that I have no knowledge of. I'd like to buy one turn-key vs building my own. Pitfalls, things to look for, etc would be helpful. I ignored Miatas for years while playing with German cars but now regret not keeping up to speed.

I also have a S197 V6 Mustang but the cost to make it anything approaching a fast and nimble track car would be ridiculous.

SVreX
SVreX MegaDork
10/29/16 3:22 p.m.

You could get in this one and drive :

Shameless self promotion

KyAllroad
KyAllroad UberDork
10/29/16 3:44 p.m.

Be aware that turboing a Miata is the easy part if your plan is to do track days. Heat is the enemy and must be aggressively managed. Where a spec Miata may go on and on in 95 degree temps, the turbocharged time attack monster can do 10-15 minutes flat out before needing to pit and cool down.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
10/29/16 4:17 p.m.

The GReddy kit has been gone for some time now. Its primary attraction was that it was cheap, now that has passed.