1 2 3
czracer
czracer None
1/29/11 7:39 p.m.

Hey all, I'm looking to get into a Lexus. A little background: I'm a combat vet w/a constantly sore back, and the '92 Wrangler doesn't make a very comfy daily driver. I'm in school training as an automotive technician, and we work with Toyota. I've been largely impressed with the quality of their vehicles. I'm not a fan of the FWD platform, so I've been drawn to the Lexus RWD offerings. I would like a strong, reliable platform as a daily driver, that will put up with spirited driving. Just today a mechanic told me to go for the inline six. Can anybody give me a good rundown on these cars? Is there a "better" year, engine, trans, etc? Also, I'm more inclined to a timing chain over a belt, but let me know the real deal here. I would say my budget is probably 12k or less, so brand new is out, but I'm not opposed to getting an older model if they are better. Thanks so much!

92CelicaHalfTrac
92CelicaHalfTrac SuperDork
1/29/11 7:43 p.m.

The inline 6 is good advice. That's the fabled 2jz, albeit in n/a form. As such, it's completely unstressed doing pedestrian naturally aspirated duties and will likely run longer than the world will continue turning. (Ok, that's an exaggeration, but you get the idea.)

IS300, GS300, SC300.

The IS and SC, you can get them both in manual.

In my opinion, an SC300 5spd would be a great car for you.

czracer
czracer New Reader
1/29/11 8:16 p.m.

Good to know! Please keep the info coming!

kb58
kb58 Reader
1/29/11 9:10 p.m.

There's a recent thread on here about the IS300. We have one and other than the 20 mpg or so, it's an awesome car. Available in both auto and stick.

xfactoraeg
xfactoraeg New Reader
1/29/11 10:28 p.m.

It's a timing belt, not a chain.

Any of those (IS/SC/GS) can be had under 12k, even with a manual (IS/SC) Although manual SC300s can command almost as much as the "newer" IS300s. May or may not be the case in your area, though.