1 2
NickD
NickD UberDork
1/7/19 7:31 a.m.

So, after blowing up the 5-speed in my Miata, I'm going to a 6-speed. Problem is, its mostly an autocross car and the 6-speed with any of the normal gear ratios (3.90, 4.10, 4.30) destroys your 2nd gear top speed. So the solution is the 3.63 ring & pinion swap (only available in RWD 5-speed 626s and some Australian-market Miata SE Turbo), which lengthens 2nd-gear almost to 5-speed/4.10 and nets you a bonus deep cruising gear. It's pretty rare though, so it's not case of just buying a complete centersection from a dismantler or trading rear ends with someone.

How easy is it to install a new ring & pinion in a Miata? Any crazy special tools like case-spreaders required? Or should I just leave this one to the pros? Keep in mind, I'm a GM tech for a living, my father was a machinist for 25 years and is a manufacturing engineer for the past 15, and I built the engine that's in the car right now, so our talent/experience is a bit above the normal guy.

j_tso
j_tso New Reader
1/7/19 8:13 a.m.

Only special tools I can think of at the moment are a hydraulic press and the right separators and installers for the pinion and other bearings, otherwise it requires a bit of patience and attention to detail to get the backlash set up properly. 

For examples of the procedure, http://gearinstalls.com/ has been helpful to me.

NickD
NickD UberDork
1/7/19 8:53 a.m.

Well, I have access to a big 20-ton OTC press at work

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
1/7/19 9:04 a.m.

Nothing special about the job, other than you have to set up the gears.

That 3.6 rear is a little more common than you think - it was Euro-spec as well, and Mazda Competition did bring in a number of them.

For an autox car, I'd be tempted to stick with the 5-speed. How much power are you running?

NickD
NickD UberDork
1/7/19 9:20 a.m.

In reply to Keith Tanner :