asoduk
asoduk HalfDork
6/29/17 9:03 p.m.

I have 2 miatas and they share race tires between track and autocross. The track car is a SM (I don't race anymore) and the autocross car is a mildly built street car. My old RA1s have really lasted a lot longer than expected and put my beater miata at 4th overall at my last autocross. On track I know they have fallen off, but the other instructors with miatas are all chumpcar guys running various 200TW tires.

Before anyone suggests tightening the nut behind the wheel... I'm an instructor and do regularly get coaching. My goal is to be able to both run with the other miata driving instructors at the track and to be able to switch the tires to my other miata once a month for an autocross. This purchase is just to put new tires on my cars to remain competitive with my buddies. I know that I could be faster than them all on Hoosiers, but they are running street tires and I'd like to as well to keep the playing field level. At the end of the day, I want a fun setup that doesn't cost an arm and a leg or have my friends complaining that I was only faster because of my brand new Hoosiers.

So I'm thinking of a 200TW tire that will last. I have heard from my chumpy friends that the regular Rival and the Yokohama are pretty decent. My question is whether a brand new 200TW tire is as sticky as a few year old RA1s. I'm really open to any 200TW tire, but a guy with a similar car to mine has the regular Rivals and seems to keep up and/or pass me at Mid Ohio.

So... what is the hive opinion? Another set of RA1s? Switch to ______ 200TW? Maxxis is having a sale now, and there is a decent sale on the Rivals too.

Biggest question: how does a shaved RA1 compare to one of these "new" 200TW tires?

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
6/30/17 9:17 a.m.