1 2
gastungstenarc
gastungstenarc
8/19/19 4:26 p.m.

First post here.  Hope it goes well.

First, a little introduction: I have been building cars and doing welding and fabrication for about twenty years now.  I was on hold for a while due to life circumstances, but I'm getting back to business.  

I really want my next project to be a mid engine conversion.  I had long wanted a mid engine car, specifically to convert a front engine car to mid engine, but then I worked at Midwest-Bayless for three years converting Fiat X1/9s to Acura K20 powertrains.  That experience convinced me that I had to build something mid engine for myself.  

Anyway, the reason for the post starts meow.  I would like to borrow somebody else's suspension engineering, as I am aware that much science is required to make a mid engine car be more than a smoky donut machine.  

I had a chance to look at NA Miata suspension (yes, actually a first time experience for me) and found the suspension to be remarkably self-contained and swap-friendly, especially the rear with its flat and horizontal mounting surface.  I would like to borrow somebody else's engineering in order to save time and effort and to help prevent failure and disappointment.  So now, the questions:

1) Does anybody here know about anybody using Miata suspension to make a mid engine car?

2) Do longer aftermarket suspension arms exist?  I would like to widen the track of the car, and can build to suit, but existing solutions have the virtue of already existing.

3) Is there a particular reason why I should not be considering Miata suspension?

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/19/19 4:32 p.m.

I would think that a FWD car would be a better choice. They tend to be pretty self-contained as well. I suspect that you'd have a hard time packaging the Miata rear subframe with an engine/trans in close proximity.