1 2
2002maniac
2002maniac HalfDork
10/22/11 11:36 p.m.

So, i had a blowout on my Subaru and against the tire shop's advice, only replaced the one tire. The set of tires was new 7 months ago and had only worn a few 32's. The tire guy assured my my transmission would blow up. Who's the idiot? Me or Him?

Just out of curiosity, I compared the circumference of the new tire to an old one and there is a 1/2 difference (82"-82.5" to be exact). I decided to put the new one on the rear and think my diff should be able to handle it. If it had any sort of LSD I'd be a bit more concerned, but I think it'll be ok. What's the verdict here? Do I drop ~$400 for 3 more tires?

mrwillie
mrwillie Reader
10/23/11 12:10 a.m.

I replaced two tires at once on my awd explorer about 15k(?) Ago. I went w/ a good set of used tires and kept them on the truck until I could replace the whole set. There was maybe 2/32s diff and I haven't had tranny issues yet. Im not a automotive professional though.

mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
10/23/11 12:16 a.m.

if you think about it... a bad alighnment can cause that kind of discrepency between tyres on the same axle

Travis_K
Travis_K SuperDork
10/23/11 3:31 a.m.

the tire shop put 3 205s and one 215 on my dads subaru, and no one noticed until they were worn out 100k later. It doesnt seem to have hurt it.

jstand
jstand New Reader
10/23/11 6:43 a.m.

I had a flat due to a staple just outside the tread on a forester, probably about 3-4k miles after buying the car new.

The tire shop I went to gave me the same line about all 4 needing to be replaced. I had them swap the full size spare to the alloy and put the bad one on the steel spare.

I traded that in at 120k miles and had no transmission or differential problems.

Tire pressure could cause the effective diameter of the tires as much or more than you are seeing with the replacement.