1 2
Geekspeed
Geekspeed New Reader
3/26/11 7:47 p.m.

Ok, so someone posted on here about a Cobra II, and that got me back to thinking about using a Mustang II as a track rat. I can find them pretty easily out where I live, so getting my hands on a cheap, rust-free example is not hard. What do you guys think?

I believe there is a blue one featured in a hot-rodding mag somewhere. The guy who owns it was able to get almost 1g out of it with a mildly modified suspension. I am thinking that the suspension is actually a better platform than a Fox car? Correct me if I am wrong....

So what do you all think? Would a II make a good track rat? I think it would be pretty simple to swap in a 2.3 turbo or a 5.0 and go at it. Thoughts, opinions?

GS

gamby
gamby SuperDork
3/26/11 8:02 p.m.

I'm not an expert on them, but since hotrodders like the Mustang II front end so much, there has to be some worth to it.

Engine choices are limitless--the big question is what you can do to the rear suspension.

I think it would be pretty sick to see a II track rat. Even more GRM if you did it to a car with the vinyl Landau top.

tuna55
tuna55 Dork
3/26/11 8:06 p.m.

Love the looks. If it's cheap, instead of asking, buy one and then tell us about it!

jrw1621
jrw1621 SuperDork
3/26/11 8:10 p.m.

Something like this seems to gather much track respect. Doesn't it share much of the chassis with the Mustang II?
I like the idea.

stroker
stroker HalfDork
3/26/11 8:35 p.m.

As long as it doesn't have the enormous "Cobra" billboard on the side it would be cool.

Bench Racer (BowtieBandit)
Bench Racer (BowtieBandit) Reader
3/26/11 8:42 p.m.

I've always liked the Mustang II, it's the bastard-stepchild of the mustang community. I'm suprised you can find more than three to be honest, considering so many of them were hacked up, sacrificing their front ends during the street rod craze.