Contradiction
Contradiction Reader
1/21/16 10:24 a.m.

Hi everyone,

I'm getting ready to start reassembling my suspension and fuel system on my car, and there are areas that could use a bit of paint to slow down some rust.

I've never used POR-15 or similar products before so I could use some advice on it.

For the most part I want to do some "spot application". Things like the brackets for my brake line junctions, some smaller rust spots on the chassis, etc. I don't intend to take strip the undercoating down to bare metal in large areas or paint complete parts, etc.

So I'm wondering how well POR-15 will work on this.

Will this stuff stick to old undercoating?

It is very liberally slathered all over the bottom of my rabbit and I don't want to strip it off clean to apply POR-15. I would consider a small area bordering the rust spot if it's necessary, but that's about it.

I'm also working in a cold garage in the Midwest. It's been an average high of about 20 degrees lately. I have a bullet heater, but I'm not expecting it to heat the garage up to an optimal temp for this stuff curing. I'll definitely get the garage warm beforehand and keep it running for 2-3 hours after I apply it, but I'm not going to run a bullet heater for 7 or 8 hours in my garage!

So with that said has anyone had experience with applying this stuff in cold conditions?

Would a heat gun on a low setting, blow drier, or heat lamp help it cure and expedite it drying? If so is any particular one better and less likely to cause paint wrinkling, etc?

I thought about warming the surface up with it before applying the POR-15, but I'm wondering if using it will it's drying would help too.

Assuming I won't really get the garage up to an "ideal temp", will this stuff still dry okay over a longer time period?

Will applying a smaller amount (i.e. just to cover a bracket or a surface rust spot) help?