jros16
jros16 None
12/21/08 11:19 a.m.

Well, I guess I should intoduce myself first. My name is Jason and I've been a lurker on here for quite some time. I've been waiting for the right moment to ask for advice and I think it's finally come. I've come to the point in my life (25) where I have enough money to finally play with cars. I found this on the local craigslist:

http://miami.craigslist.org/pbc/cto/962128048.html

The plan would be to work on suspension, brakes, cosmetic, and then eventually go for the subaru turbo 4 swap. This is a long term project and I believe the build up would take a few years (budget a main issue), but this is actually what I want.

Now the main issue: I have very little experience (man enough to admit it, lol). I've done all the regular maintenance stuff on my truck, but I've never actually done major work to a car. I just want to be sure I'm not biting off more than I can chew. I look at it as everyone has to start somewhere, so why not here?

I'm checking it out today, so I can give more info on the condition later today if needed.

Thanks.

Trans_Maro
Trans_Maro New Reader
12/21/08 11:24 a.m.

Just remember, if the car is in boxes like this one assume that the engine is siezed and you're buying a bunch of parts to resell.

If you get a car out of it, that's great but if you need to whore the parts on eBay, will you double your investment? If not, it's not worth your time.

Shawn (who's done this enough times to know)

Tim Baxter
Tim Baxter Online Editor
12/21/08 11:27 a.m.

On a 914, the main thing is rust. It just eats old German cars up. Mechanically, 914s aren't that complicated, but as Trans, said, if it's in boxes, you need to assume the worst.

Take a look at our old 914 project car, too, if you haven't already: http://grassrootsmotorsports.com/project-cars/1973-porsche-914/updates/

Salanis
Salanis SuperDork
12/21/08 1:09 p.m.