Alphadawg
Alphadawg New Reader
3/10/14 11:14 a.m.

Finally bought my first Miata and hope to get it to the local autocross soon. I have to take the novice course first. It is a 15 year old original car and badly needs new suspension parts. I want to stay in the stock class so no coilovers. What is a good set up that is not too pricey? I also see bushing kits. Is that something a newbie can do himself? I am hoping it is simple - I am still learning

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
3/10/14 11:16 a.m.

You might appreciate these two books:

How To Build a High Performance Mazda Miata

Mazda Miata Performance Projects

The former will teach you what you want to know about the car, the latter will tell you how to do jobs like change the bushings.

The best budget shock for stock class is the Koni Sport. If you do the bushings, use rubber.

kylini
kylini Reader
3/10/14 11:43 a.m.

Welcome to GRM and the joy that is Miata! I went through what you're doing now a few years back and here's a few completely random tidbits which may or may not be helpful.

Koni Sports (or yellows) and tires are pretty much the only thing you need to have a blast in your car. I'm a big fan of the "long-bolt" method to install the shocks, which basically means removing the upper control arm bolt and using a jack to gently unload the suspension while you swing it down and out. No matter what you might think, you can never have too much PB Blaster and fire when doing this job. You want spring compressors and you want new bump stops (and other rubber bits) ready to go. I wouldn't worry about bushings unless there's severe slop, but this would be the time to install them (in which case, screw the long-bolt method; you're disassembling it completely!).