1 2
flatlander937
flatlander937 GRM+ Memberand Reader
6/27/15 11:43 a.m.

I now have a 100mi round trip daily commute through the Hampton Roads Bridge Tunnel, the roads here suck so I'm looking learn about something I can get somewhat cheap, is nice to drive, and relatively easy to fix. I'm an ASE master tech so I can do work myself obviously, though have little experience with older stuff.

Anybody have some insight on these older luxury barges? I've done a bit of reading on them, engines harnesses on the Mercedes are common, BMW has a bunch of little things that go wrong etc.

25+mpg on highway is necessary(so V6/I6 is probably more desirable IMO), and scan tools for whatever diagnostics would need to be somewhat affordable within reason if required.

The more sensible car would probably be a Crown Vic or LT1 Impala possibly, but I've really been lusting after a nice German car.

Probably won't be buying for some time but if can be found cheap enough, can have a "project" to work on.

Other suggestions are welcome, I know I haven't thought of everything.

yupididit
yupididit GRM+ Memberand Reader
6/27/15 12:13 p.m.

You're probably not going to get that milage out of a gas w126. A diesel maybe? W126 v8 are smooth cars but can have quirky issues that you won't find with other cars because of their CIS system. The 560SEL and SEC are fantastic driving cars. The models with SLS suspension can be more expensive to fix but still not hard. But, if you can find one for good price go for it.

The w124 had a lot of engine choices from 4 to 8 cylinder gas and a diesel option. In my opinion they can be reliable and obviously daily driven the harness and transmission problems have fixes other than that typical stuff.