P71
P71 GRM+ Memberand New Reader
5/25/08 2:36 p.m.

http://www.yahoo.com/s/887951

That's owned by the NHRA Top Fuel racer/team owner Connie Kalitta. :omg: No casualties though.

gamby
gamby SuperDork
5/25/08 5:48 p.m.

:omg:

triumph7
triumph7 New Reader
5/25/08 6:56 p.m.

Not surprising considering things that I've heard about Kalitta's "fleet". (I'm an aircraft mechanic and aviation is a small world!)

David S. Wallens
David S. Wallens Editorial Director
5/25/08 9:09 p.m.

I don't think it ever got up off the tarmac to have officially "gone down." Wow, that's freaky.

neon4891
neon4891 Reader
5/25/08 11:42 p.m.

How... did...it...BREAK??!!!

1slowcrx
1slowcrx Reader
5/26/08 1:09 a.m.

Great, it's nice reading about 747's breaking in half after flying 6500 miles from San Fran to Kunshan China in one:omg:

Maybe we can fly airbus on the way back:whatthe:

fiat22turbo
fiat22turbo GRM+ Memberand Dork
5/26/08 1:34 a.m.

Well, freight planes lead a different life than passenger planes, so don't worry so much about it. More than likely it was just poor maintenance combined with some abuse. At least no one was hurt.

nutherjrfan
nutherjrfan New Reader
5/26/08 10:28 p.m.
fiat22turbo wrote: Well, freight planes lead a different life than passenger planes, so don't worry so much about it.

'cept until it lands on your house :omg:

Osterkraut
Osterkraut New Reader
5/27/08 12:52 a.m.
1slowcrx wrote: Great, it's nice reading about 747's breaking in half after flying 6500 miles from San Fran to Kunshan China in one:omg: Maybe we can fly airbus on the way back:whatthe:

TAIL FLYS OFF!

Find a DC-10. They're invincible.

pinchvalve
pinchvalve GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
5/27/08 8:04 a.m.

Apparently, Bondo can NOT do anything.

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess SuperDork
5/27/08 8:50 a.m.