monsterbronco
monsterbronco Reader
8/19/14 1:05 p.m.

Hey guys, I don’t post here much more of just a lurker. Some of you may know me but here is some backstory, I work as a Mechanical Engineer for a large aerospace company in my free time I play with a 1991 Rx7 built to SCCA ITS mainly racing at NJMP but with the occasional tow to MidOhio. My home base is Philly but last year I took a temporary assignement to spend a year in Huntsville AL this will be concluding in October. I will be returning to Philly for a brief time and then taking up another ~1yr assignment in Seattle, specifically Renton.

There were a variety of reasons that I did not bring my racecar down to Huntsville but regardless I have regretted not trying to bring it down here. So I am toying with the idea of towing it from Philly to Seattle, however my timeline would place that in Dec or Jan and that means crossing the Rockies with a truck and enclosed trailer. This has me a little nervous…. So I am taking a look at what other options there are to keep me occupied from a tinkering/motorsports perspective.

I spend majority of my days in front of a computer or in meetings so need a constructive outlet… Brett at Fusionworks has been my savior here in Huntsville, even though I am sure I spend more time BS’ing then helping! It has been nice to at least have constructive motorsports discussions!

I race a SCCA ITS Rx7 (which can dip into STL) however looking at the SCCA fields they are pretty disappointing out there. So is there anyone in the pacific northwest? Perhaps people looking for an additional member of a Lemons/Chump team? I rented a seat for the RA Chump event this past Feb and found out I am not an arrive and drive personality, I need to be able to be involved in the prep/build of the car (might have something to do with the horrendous level of prep the car I rented had….) I do enjoy getting my hands dirty but also want to be able to drive.

Thanks for listening to my blabbing!

turboswede