1 2 3
Zman
Zman None
8/6/09 8:01 a.m.

So here goes, i'm still fairly new to driving, only been using a basic vanilla flavoured Vdub Golf for a while but now I have an RX-7 and I wanted some advice on what modifications to fit to it before I start practicing my speedy driving.

The aim of this is that in a years' time I want to get myself a Nissan 350Z but I want to be able to handle fast cars before I get one of those bad boys, so it was suggested that I get a cheap second and RX-7 and practice in an abandoned industrial park or something.

Does anyone have any advice to kick me off please? I'm a bit of a nublet :(

Rusty_Rabbit84
Rusty_Rabbit84 HalfDork
8/6/09 8:12 a.m.

First off, welcome.

In regards to your ideas, i say start off in the suspension and brake catagories. You can add as much power as you want, but it will be no good if your car will not handle or brake.

For a little advice for testing out your new modifications, start researching for an open track day and go sign up. This way you could test your settings in a controlled enviorment with rescue personnel on site and no cops to worry about.

jrw1621
jrw1621 HalfDork
8/6/09 8:15 a.m.

Get some real instruction.
Presented by SCCA, BMW Club and The Tire Rack... http://www.streetsurvival.org/

After that, contact your local SCCA Chapter or NASA Chapter and get involved with autocossing. Both organizations often have "training days" in the early summer.

Ian F
Ian F HalfDork
8/6/09 8:17 a.m.

As stated above, start with brakes and tires... maybe suspension... but even stock, the limits of an RX7 are higher than can be safely achieved on the street.

The easiest and cheapest way to get seat time under controlled conditions is to do autocross.

Granted, IMHO, I think I'd rather have a RX7 than a 350z...

Zman
Zman New Reader
8/6/09 8:18 a.m.