Jumper K Balls (Trent)
Jumper K Balls (Trent) PowerDork
9/4/19 10:13 a.m.

Short version. Building up a G13B. This is my first time dipping my toes in the Suzuki and actually Japanese engine world.  Block is off to the machine shop. I will be needing all the usual bits like main and rod bearings, gasket set, timing belt..ect. 

Who are the preferred vendors? I mean, Rockauto has everything but are there any businesses who are generally good folks in this niche that deserve support?

I have noticed Zomby/Superf1y has been back recently. Chime in with info sir.

Also I need a good set of stock cams. Mine are rust pitted and I'm hoping I can get good used for less than sending these out for regrinding.

Suprf1y
Suprf1y UltimaDork
9/4/19 11:03 a.m.

What is the machine shop doing to the block?

Rock auto is fine if you get the better quality stuff. Anything from Altrom is very high quality.  If you need any valves or guides I think I'm out but if you need some send me an email through here. I'll direct you to the manufacturer who made them for me. I'm pretty sure they still have some.

Look here for cams. .

http://www.ssgtirep.com/forum/

All the ones I have are spoken for. If you want something ground include that in the email and I can tell you what you want and what you don't want

I have this later G13 for sale right now. It's not an option for you because of distance, but is otherwise a good alternative to the DOHC that most people aren't aware of

Jumper K Balls (Trent)
9/4/19 11:31 a.m.
Suprf1y said:

What is the machine shop doing to the block?

This motor ate its hesdgasket and then sat for a long time and the rings rusted to the bores causing pitting. It is being bored out for oversized pistons. 

I have a Napa account and will go through them for the Altrom stuff then. Thanks

Suprf1y
Suprf1y UltimaDork
9/4/19 11:32 a.m.

Make sure the oversize pistons are correct first before you start boring

MrChaos
MrChaos GRM+ Memberand Dork
9/4/19 11:33 a.m.