1 2
fifty
fifty HalfDork
9/8/15 7:59 p.m.

We're in Fairfax County and recently had 3 contractors give us estimates on converting our one car carport to a:

a. One car garage and

b. Two car garage

The first estimate came tonight, $39,600 for a one car or $62,500 for a two car.

We also had a new roof and some other E36 M3 as a separate estimate and those were reasonable, so I am fairly confident the contractor is being straight up with us. it still did not stop my eyes from bulging

Has anyone else had recent estimates for similar work?

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/8/15 8:17 p.m.

Go post and beam and have the Amish build it. Seriously. A friend hired three Amish guys who came over to Connecticut every Monday morning and went home on Friday. They built a post and beam barn/garage. Huge, beautiful, cheap. It's a showpiece. And I think it was closer to twenty grand.

Apexcarver
Apexcarver PowerDork
9/8/15 8:18 p.m.

I am just getting started house hunting in roughly the same area and YIKES! guess I just scratched building a garage off the list as a possibility.

Woody
Woody GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/8/15 8:20 p.m.
Apexcarver wrote: I am just getting started house hunting in roughly the same area and YIKES! guess I just scratched building a garage off the list as a possibility.

Build your own house. You can do it. I did.

Apexcarver
Apexcarver PowerDork
9/8/15 8:36 p.m.
Woody wrote:
Apexcarver wrote: I am just getting started house hunting in roughly the same area and YIKES! guess I just scratched building a garage off the list as a possibility.
Build your own house. You can do it. I did.

Not entirely sure one simply builds a house in the DC area. That is, unless you want to go to PG county, MD, which my wife refuses to do. Looking into it, PG county seems a bad investment, but we might have to come around based on budget. Seems like you need almost a half mil (well, >$400k) to get a decent place with a two car garage (which is absurd!)