1 2
amg_rx7
amg_rx7 SuperDork
3/31/16 11:01 p.m.

Looking for a new 1/2 ton tow rig / home depot / lowes truck. Will tow a Miata on an open trailer around northern California.

I'm new to GM trucks but am interested in the 2000+ Silverados - particularly with the 5.3 and RWD.

Seems like the locals don't know if they have a 4.8 or 5.3...
How can I tell the difference between the 4.8 and 5.3 when I check out the truck?
Does the Z71 package automatically mean that it has the 5.3?

Anything particular to look for in a test drive?

What's the difference between the LS and LT option package?

Which option package has cruise control?

Thanks.

curtis73
curtis73 GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
3/31/16 11:36 p.m.
amg_rx7 wrote: Looking for a new 1/2 ton tow rig / home depot / lowes truck. Will tow a Miata on an open trailer around northern California. I'm new to GM trucks but am interested in the 2000+ Silverados - particularly with the 5.3 and RWD. Seems like the locals don't know if they have a 4.8 or 5.3... How can I tell the difference between the 4.8 and 5.3 when I check out the truck? Does the Z71 package automatically mean that it has the 5.3?

Check the SPID sticker for RPO codes. LM4, LM7, L33, L59 are 5.3L. LR4 is 4.8L

In my opinion it doesn't really matter. 4.8 and 5.3 are pretty close in specific output. For the occasional towing I don't think you'll notice a difference. A 5.3L means you cross the mountain at 65 mph. A 4.8L means you cross it at 62 mph. The 4.8L is rated (depending on year) at 270-285 hp and 285-295 tq. The 5.3 is rated at 285-310 hp and 325-335 tq. You'll never notice the difference.

Anything particular to look for in a test drive?

Nothing specific. GMT800s are pretty bulletproof. Failures will be obvious.

What's the difference between the LS and LT option package? Which option package has cruise control?