Coldsnap
Coldsnap Dork
10/17/16 3:54 p.m.

I hear rust will take a 240 wagon before anything else does. So I wanted to be pro active and take care of the small sections of my car where rust shows. Most of these are just place where paint and clear coat was scratched off.

I'm a complete beginner so if you could share tools and spray I need that would be great. Most the cars clear coat is gone so I don't really care too much about looks but I'd like it to be at least decent looking.

Photo album of rust spots

NordicSaab
NordicSaab HalfDork
10/17/16 4:09 p.m.

Rust all looks pretty dry except for the door sills. Sand/scrape/wire brush down to bare metal. Make sure you get all the rust out. Spray over with some kind of rust inhibiting primer - Rustoleum Rusty Metal Primer is my go to. Complete with your finish coat of choice.

Coldsnap
Coldsnap Dork
10/17/16 4:18 p.m.
NordicSaab wrote: Rust all looks pretty dry except for the door sills. Sand/scrape/wire brush down to bare metal. Make sure you get all the rust out. Spray over with some kind of rust inhibiting primer - Rustoleum Rusty Metal Primer is my go to. Complete with your finish coat of choice.

Finish coat is just paint?

Coldsnap
Coldsnap Dork
10/17/16 6:51 p.m.

And can I put a wire brush on my Makita house drill to scrape off rust?

NordicSaab
NordicSaab HalfDork
10/17/16 7:39 p.m.

Finish coat is paint.

I've never had success with a wire brush on a drill; usually there isn't enough torque.

Flap disc or wire brush on a grinder would be fastest. You could also hand sand.

markwemple
markwemple SuperDork
10/17/16 7:43 p.m.

I use a combination of the grinder and drill approach. Sand or soda blasting would be most effective

Coldsnap
Coldsnap Dork
10/17/16 7:44 p.m.
NordicSaab wrote: Finish coat is paint. I've never had success with a wire brush on a drill; usually there isn't enough torque. Flap disc or wire brush on a grinder would be fastest. You could also hand sand.