Login Register Sign up for the GRM e-newsletter

Login to post Forums » Grassroots Motorsports » Scam possible from GRM classified
  • BradLTL

    March 18, 2009 6:00 p.m. BradLTL New Reader

    This is clearly not a fault of GRM, it is just a reality of the internet. I am posting to make everyone aware.

    I received an email message concern my classified ad, the subject said "A grassrootsmotorsports.com message from maxwell". The message had 3 very key signs of a scam:

    1. Poor English and grammar
    2. Never mentioning the sale item specifically
    3. No mention of any amounts

    I replied, pretty much guaranteeing that my email would now be added to some spam list, but to test if this really was a scam. My response also did not mention specifically what was for sale, which with a legitimate buyer there would still be questions needing to be answered. I didn't actually expect a response, but I am glad it came. This gave me enough information to prove this was a scam. You can "google" any of the lines or the phone number and pull up several websites that involve classifieds with the exact same language as the message I received. Messages similar to this are well known on craigslist and the like.

    BE AWARE.

    Here is the entire thread of messages. Please learn from my experience.

    Thanks, Brad

    ============================

    Hello,

    Thanks so much for your email and quick responce,the price is okay .........i will send you a deposit and have my agent come for inspection,once the agent confirms to me that the item is in good condition,i will send out your balance to you immediately,as for the deposit i will be sending a check which can be cashed easily , to send it out i will need your full name and address and also phone number....mine is 206-337-0553,do send me the infors asap,

    waiting to hear from you.....

    Maxwell --- On Wed, 3/18/09, xx@xxxx.com wrote:

    From: <a href="mailto:xx@xxxx.com">xx@xxxx.com</a> 
    Subject: Re: A <a href="http://grassrootsmotorsports.com">grassrootsmotorsports.com</a> message from maxwell
    To: <a href="mailto:maxwell_combs@yahoo.com">maxwell_combs@yahoo.com</a>
    Date: Wednesday, March 18, 2009, 12:48 PM
    
    Hello,
    
    Yes it is still for sale. Asking price is $24,500. Everything is as good as advertised.
    
    Cheers
    Brad
    
    On Mar 17, 2009 11:16am, <a href="mailto:maxwell_combs@yahoo.com">maxwell_combs@yahoo.com</a> wrote:
    &gt; Hello,
    &gt;
    &gt; I am contacting you about your advertisement ,i am satisfied with the conditions as advertised However i want to know if you still have it  for sale ,pls  do not hesitate to let me know  anything you feel i should  know about it and also the  last asking price?email me back to <a href="mailto:maxwell_combs@yahoo.com">maxwell_combs@yahoo.com</a>
    &gt;
    &gt; regards
    &gt;
    
  • Gimp

    March 18, 2009 6:21 p.m. Gimp Dork

    I got the same one... passed it on to Baxter.

  • March 19, 2009 7:18 a.m. CoryB Reader

    It seems to be an epidemic. I posted about this Thursday morning in Off-topic.

  • Tim Baxter

    March 19, 2009 7:25 a.m. Tim Baxter Online Editor

    Again, taken care of. One guy, who's been booted.

    Brad, I'd edit your post to remove your email address, but that's me.

 
Tire Rack- Revolutionizing Tire Buying

You'll need to log in to post.