longhorndude
longhorndude New Reader
4/15/11 12:24 p.m.

so, i have discovered that repairing the rust on my miata is going to cost about half the value of the car... something that im not keen on knowing that i'm a poor college student and i will never get that money back. so heres my thoughts. drive it until june, get what i can for it, make it through the summer with the motorcycle, then when i get paid in september, find a decent e36 to enjoy. thoughts on the situation from anyone. i've driven my uncle's '97 m3 and it was probably one of the best drives of my life, granted ill be looking for a 323i probably, but i feel like this would be worth it. input please.

ReverendDexter
ReverendDexter SuperDork
4/15/11 12:34 p.m.

I think that justifying a 323 by how an M3 drives is setting yourself up for disappointment.

HStockSolo
HStockSolo New Reader
4/15/11 12:54 p.m.

I like my 325i, but it has more than its share of rust. As far as suspension, that is all easy changed, and the unique suspension parts on the M3 are not worth much.

nderwater
nderwater HalfDork
4/15/11 1:21 p.m.

My feelings on E36's run the gambit. The early 318i automatic is about the worst car BMW ever sold in this country. On the flip side, my E36 M3 is the best sedan I've ever owned - and it's bone stock. I nearly bought an E36 328is instead, but I'm glad I held out. The M3's powertrain and chassis work so well together, both at the track on on the street. My car is a bit of a beater, and is worth maybe $5,000 today.

My old NA Miata was a great car, but was from Long Island and I sold it instead of modifying it because of rust issues. On the other hand, my NB Miata is the most fun vehicle I've ever owned - but it has forced induction and suspension work. Nice turbo Miata's can be had for $5,000 or less.