mad_machine
mad_machine GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
3/5/09 7:38 p.m.

As I am in the process of trying to pick up a cheap one.. I have been thinking of taking it to the Auto-X. With my work scheadule and intestines, I cannot do long races or rallies anymore, but a morning of killing cones sounds like fun.

I have never done it before, so it is a steep learning curve for me. Could this cheap 944 be competitive in a stock class?

AngryCorvair
AngryCorvair GRM+ Memberand Dork
3/5/09 8:42 p.m.

8th place at Nats in ES a couple years ago. so, yeah, it can certainly be competitive in the local level. just add driver.

jrw1621
jrw1621 HalfDork
3/5/09 9:02 p.m.

They were all the rage back when you could buy one new. The 50/50 weight distribution being one of the big benifits. Here is a picture of a friend's 944S parked next to my MR2 back in 2001 or 2002.

Dscn0377

P71
P71 GRM+ Memberand Dork
3/5/09 9:50 p.m.

No such thing as a cheap one. Water pump/timing belt job is over $1,000 just in parts, same story on a clutch. Have money before you get one, because you won't have any by the time it's running...

AngryCorvair
AngryCorvair GRM+ Memberand Dork
3/6/09 7:01 a.m.
P71 wrote: No such thing as a cheap one. Water pump/timing belt job is over $1,000 just in parts, same story on a clutch. Have money before you get one, because you won't have any by the time it's running...

i call BS. clutch parts are about $450 plus shipping for Sachs brand, as seen here

and the timing belt kit will run you $205 plus shipping for Conti (made in Germany) as seen here

and the water pump with gasket will set you back $125 plus shipping, shown here

So, that's $780 in parts, not $2000.

Bottom line is these cars run good and handle great, and nearly 30 years after their introduction they're still very sexy in the right color combination. Stay on top of routine maintenance -- Porsche, not Honda -- and you'll love the car.