pinchvalve
pinchvalve GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
4/30/18 12:56 p.m.

Last year I attended the Match Tour in Pittsburgh as a lark.  I had been autocrossing off and on for over 15 years and figured that I would give it a shot.  The talent on display there blew me away and I decided to take my driving a bit more seriously.  So I took the Evo school and I started talking to other racers about lines and I practiced. I worked on technique, car setup, concentration, etc etc etc.  I feel like I am a lot better than I was last year.   

This year I started out with the Starting Line School to get ready for the Match Tour 2018. The school was amazing, but let's face it, I'm not going to improve in a week.  I have to work to overcome my bad habits and apply what I learned.  Still, I knew what to do and I was 100% focused on doing my best.  

The event was challenging; rain, 35-degree temps, the wrong brake pads, stress unrelated to the event, whine whine whine.  But I applied my training and went out there determined to give it my all.  I got a total of 10 runs on the same course, and didn't nail it a single time.  I was at a 52.5 when other Fiestas were in the 51s and 50s.  

I don't care that I was the slowest of the Fiestas, other people are faster than me and that's cool.  What I care about it that that same car on the same tires in the same conditions on the same course can be 2.5 seconds faster than me.  I can see how I might have  shaved some time and got down another .2 or .4 seconds - but 1.5 seconds?  Or 2.5?!?!?  That is enough of a gap to tell me one of two things: