Kartoffelbrei
Kartoffelbrei UltraDork
8/16/16 6:44 p.m.

Sadly, my Volvo knowledge only covers redblocks and the follies of the S80, so with these I am a bit in the dark. This one popped up recently, and given the hassle I've had finding a Prius, I figured I give this one a look. Or is it a no-go?

Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/16/16 7:37 p.m.

In reply to Kartoffelbrei:

I have heard that there is a gear box in the all wheel drive system that is fragile. Fragile and expensive. I want to say it is the output from the transmission for the rear driveshaft. That is strictly rumor though, I have no experience with them.

markwemple
markwemple SuperDork
8/16/16 7:45 p.m.

The 01 and 02 had trans issues. Later ones not as bad. Regular changes with the corrected fluid helps a lot. Ours had 160k no issues when we sold it.

Sine_Qua_Non
Sine_Qua_Non Dork
8/16/16 8:04 p.m.

2000 was terrible for trans issues as well. If it's a manual, you are fine. Auto with AWD is to be avoided.

Coldsnap
Coldsnap Dork
8/16/16 8:12 p.m.

I think the v50 is cooler. Drove an AWD manual and loved it.

eebasist
eebasist Reader
8/16/16 9:58 p.m.

Expect to tear the dash apart as well to fix the AC (evaporator core)

Kartoffelbrei
Kartoffelbrei UltraDork
8/17/16 8:25 a.m.

I know the evap core was an issue on the 850/s/v70 of yore, but I didn't think it carried over to the '01 refresh.

V50 is too small for my liking. Go big or go home, I say.

What's the timing belt service interval on these?

bigdaddylee82
bigdaddylee82 SuperDork
8/17/16 12:41 p.m.
eebasist wrote: Expect to tear the dash apart as well to fix the AC (evaporator core)

Not necessarily to be expected, though it is a big enough of a chore that I'd either avoid one with A/C issues all together, or use it as a bargaining chip to knock a significant chunk off of the asking price.