1 2
rudes333
rudes333 New Reader
5/11/19 1:13 p.m.

Well just like the title states, I am going to be a dad soon (Jan 2).  I am a firefighter/ paramedic down here in South Florida. Been driving a 2000 Chevy Silverado 1500 Extended Cab (3 door) for the last 5 years. It’s been a good truck but it’s not going to fit a backwards facing car seat and it’s super boring to drive. I have been ok with it because I do have a fun little 94 Miata as a fun/track toy.

So I am in the market now for something new or new to me (used)

- 4 Doors

- Fun to drive

-Safe

- Manual transmission (not a deal breaker)

- Wagon or hatch (not a deal breaker)

- Under $15,000 

- Under $10,000 I can keep the truck too

I was thinking of Focus ST, VW GTI, or 4 door Civic SI but wife suggested something a bit more grownup (not a no tho). So was thinking a BMW wagon or the Acura TSX wagon. A car isn’t out the equation as long as I can put a roof rack on it for my waterman toys and bikes.

Thanks for reading and any help/suggestions 

Here are some pics. Everyone loves pics

rudes333
rudes333 New Reader
5/11/19 1:16 p.m.

rudes333
rudes333 New Reader
5/11/19 1:16 p.m.

Javelin
Javelin GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
5/11/19 1:25 p.m.

Mazda5

John Welsh
John Welsh Mod Squad
5/11/19 1:41 p.m.

What's your wife drive? 

How tall are you? 

How tall is wife? 

Vigo
Vigo UltimaDork
5/11/19 1:44 p.m.

Your truck is sweet!!

I've got a 7 month old. We bought an 05 Cayenne S as a 'kid car'. It has some downsides, mpg being a big one. It is however sporty fun and full of v8 noises. I'd definitely recommend one (i.e. any cayenne you can afford in general, there's a big range under 15k) if you're doing your own work and don't drive enough for the mpg to be a big deal.