jharry3
jharry3 GRM+ Memberand Reader
9/4/18 9:02 a.m.

So I got distracted while changing the oil in my wife's Ford Edge.  2.0 ecoboost.

I started it without oil and it took about 15 seconds before I realized it and shut it off.  

Didn't make any funny noises while this happened.    I added the oil and we drove like 60 miles with no issues popping up.  

I always use Royal Purple so I am hoping the  leftover oil was enough for the bearings.

Do I have a kaboom in my future? 

I'm ready to crawl under a rock I am so disappointed in myself... I have been working on cars for over 45 years and this is my first mistake that could have consequences.

Wife drives 2000 miles a month for work so I do a lot of oil changes every year.

Stampie
Stampie GRM+ Memberand UberDork
9/4/18 9:04 a.m.

Your probably ok. I'd do a 500 mile oil change and look for shiny stuff in the oil and filter. 

AngryCorvair
AngryCorvair GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
9/4/18 9:08 a.m.

+1 to probably OK.   I wouldn't even do a 500-mile change.   as the kids say, I'd send it.

KyAllroad (Jeremy)
KyAllroad (Jeremy) PowerDork
9/4/18 9:21 a.m.

It's fine.  15 seconds of idle without oil: nothing.  I used to do that just to clear old oil out of the system and never had a problem.

Robbie
Robbie GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
9/4/18 9:22 a.m.

agree. as long as you didn't start the car and go straight to wide open throttle and high boost to back out of the garage.

jimbbski
jimbbski Dork
9/4/18 9:35 a.m.

I agree with all of the above.

I've seen and heard of people running old engines without oil to see how long they will run and it usually takes a few minutes or more to seize.

So a "good" engine with "good" oil residue in it  run for 15 seconds should not show any abnormal wear.

I do have to say that I've never done the above but have forgotten to install  the drain plug a couple of times. That is over a near 45 year span of changing my own oil  however.

Tyler H
Tyler H GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
9/4/18 9:56 a.m.