DaewooOfDeath
DaewooOfDeath Dork
8/21/14 1:18 a.m.

I have zero experience with twist beam rear suspensions as I've mostly tried to avoid them. However, I feel the time has come to break the cherry and embrace my inner economy car.

So questions. a) Are they as awful as I assume? b) How much lateral deflection do they typically suffer? c) How does one control/adjust the roll center with a twist beam? d) How hard is it to convert one to a solid axle with a panhard bar?

DeadSkunk
DeadSkunk SuperDork
8/21/14 6:29 a.m.

I raced VWs with twist beam rears. Changing the rubber bushings to spherical ball bushings will help with lateral deflection. A large rear sway bar and shimming the hubs to adjust the toe both helped. There are bars available to keep the trailing arm part of the beam from flexing laterally. There are several suppliers of racing VW parts where you might find pictures for reference. I had looked at how much the rear beam of my son's 2009 Kia Rio resembled the VW setup with the intent of upgrading the handling. He never went further with it.As for going to a solid axle/panhard set up , anything is possible I suppose.

Bobzilla
Bobzilla PowerDork
8/21/14 7:24 a.m.

I don't mind the beam in the Forte. Makes things simpler in terms of "dialing it in" IMO because I set the rear to full stiff and soften/stiffen the front and adjust tire pressures to help over/understeer.Oddly enough, I'm running a much closer tire pressure F/R on this car than I have with any of my previous IRS cars.

DaewooOfDeath
DaewooOfDeath Dork
8/21/14 8:30 a.m.