1 2
Jaynen
Jaynen Dork
5/23/17 8:07 p.m.

Anyone taking their normal non really sporty car to a track day? Was it still fun? Worth it?

My buddy just got a 2015 WRX and I plan to co-drive autocross with him. But if we do an HPDE in order to co-drive I would need to run a different run group.

He is a total novice, I have done about 6 days on the track but over many years and not in his WRX or anything in my current fleet and not at the track we are looking at (VIR)

I could either run the yellow group in his car, or I could go in the green/novice group also but run my 2011 E350 that is stock except for pilot super sports

Daeldalus
Daeldalus New Reader
5/23/17 8:13 p.m.

I did my first track day in a almost stock 93 nissan altima.( had 366K miles at the time)

definitely worth it, was a ton of fun and would do it again if i had the same opportunity.

mazdeuce
mazdeuce MegaDork
5/23/17 8:13 p.m.

Well, sleepyhead has done One Lap in a Fit, a Mini Clubman, and an Acura TL, none of which rise toward the sporty end of the spectrum.

Dusterbd13
Dusterbd13 UltimaDork
5/23/17 8:14 p.m.

I ran my camry once. Still had fun, just in a different way.

Its kinda like hooking up at last call. Still good, and nothing to bitch about, but could be a lot better.

red_stapler
red_stapler Dork
5/23/17 8:23 p.m.

I'd think an E class on PSS would be a riot.

codrus
codrus GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
5/23/17 8:28 p.m.

I haven't drive an E class, but my impression is that they're reasonably sporting. If you're willing/able to take it around the track at 80%, it'll probably be fun. If you push it too hard, it'll just understeer and chew up the tires, though.

I wouldn't take a stock Prius to the track, OTOH. That sounds like no fun at all.

dculberson
dculberson PowerDork
5/23/17 8:33 p.m.