1 2 3 ... 10
Floating Doc (Forum Supporter)
Floating Doc (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand UltraDork
4/9/20 8:17 p.m.

There's some really interesting and distinct usernames on the GRM forum. 

In some cases, it's the name that was given by the member's parents. Others are a version of a sight gag (I'm looking at you, shrug).

I'm a veterinarian, and I've been active on multiple fishing and boating forums, hence floating doc.

How did you come up with yours? 

tb
tb GRM+ Memberand Dork
4/9/20 8:20 p.m.

My friends have been calling me "tb" since high school since my first name is a very common Timothy and my middle name is the uncommon Beau. I think my friend eugene started it? Makes it easier than calling for "Tim" and having three people in the room reply "which one?"

Dr. Hess (Forum Supporter)
Dr. Hess (Forum Supporter) MegaDork
4/9/20 8:23 p.m.

Back before there was a World Wide Web and "forums," we had these things called "Mailing Lists."  Some machine would host software and send emails out to everyone on the list.  You would reply and everyone else would get the email.  Weird, huh?  Well, I used to sign my emails 'Hess' which is what my friends call me.  Then, after much work and even more B.S., I got an M.D., so I started signing them 'Dr.Hess'. 

RossD
RossD MegaDork
4/9/20 8:31 p.m.

My name is Ross. Last initial... wait for it... is a D.

Now my avatar picture is our cabin in Northern Wisconsin in the snow. 

Purple Frog