It was a bit shy, but i managed to coax it out of the garage finally:

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Picked it up for $2500 last night. Seller was the second owner, had it since '93. It's got a sad 6 year old maaco paintjob, it's only ever been bumped in a parking lot. New softtop with a glass window, obviously the hardtop, shifts good, drives straight. With the electrical issues i've had thus far (just a bad battery), it's been like owning a LBC. It's got a bad window regulator on the driver's side, i'm looking for a replacement. Best to go to mazda or get one used?

Stuff i need info on:

1 - Temp gauge doesn't work. Seller said it started after they reassembled the motor. They replaced the sender, no change. What should i check next? 2 - Shop manuals - Which ones are actually helpful?

Driving impressions - I've been racing for 8 years now, and all i understand is FWD, this car does stuff that seems unnatural to me! I love it!

Salanis
Salanis Dork
8/13/08 2:49 p.m.

Get Keith Tanner's "Mazda Miata Performance Projects". It's not a shop manual, but what it lacks in breadth of obscure projects, it makes up for in depth and clarity for the most common tasks.

Josh
Josh Reader
8/13/08 2:58 p.m.

Seconded on Keith's book. I also have found the Haynes somewhat useful, at least worth its low price. I haven't come across a factory manual for cheap yet.

MCarp22
MCarp22 New Reader
8/13/08 3:31 p.m.

Thanks guys, i'll be sure to check that out. Any other advice is appreciated!

confuZion3
confuZion3 HalfDork
8/13/08 3:36 p.m.

I have a Haynes. It gives you all the torque specs you'll need and it is pretty good at doing most jobs. The only one I felt was a little retarded was the soft top replacement.

"Remove screws on front support bar. Drill out rivets. Remove rear carpet. Remove rain rail."

"Installation is the opposite of removal."