dj
dj Reader
7/5/19 2:56 p.m.

I have been enjoying my Focus ST trouble free for two months now until I noticed the battery getting weaker when it sometimes failed to start the car on the first try. I took it to the Costcorp store, it tested bad and  I bought the new battery. It was a long day and I was just trying to get home throwing the battery in when I noticed the battery terminals on the battery were reversed. I figured the battery in there was just more bad voodoo from the previous owner. I rotated the battery around so it should've been the same and tried to just get it over with in the parking lot. When I put the positive terminal on I realized my error with a large arc of electricity. All the lights turned on and the horn rang out. It was under a second but it was bad enough. We got a..second new battery in there correctly and amazingly the electronics all seemed to work with the ST's keyless entry. But it would not start. 

I came back the next day and push started the car and took it across the parking lot to Pep Bros. They replaced the starter and main fuse but now every time you turn on the AC compressor it blows a fuse. I'm living in an apartment now with no place to work on the Focus. 

What I ask of the Elders of Grassrootery: What else have I likely broken in this scenario? 

Tom_Spangler
Tom_Spangler GRM+ Memberand PowerDork
7/5/19 2:58 p.m.

Dunno, but don't feel too bad. We've all done stuff like that.

dj
dj Reader
7/5/19 3:02 p.m.

I mean I've done my share of dumb things with cars but this has to be the worst for when I was trying to fix something and save some money in the process. Definitely took a couple steps back on this one.

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
7/5/19 3:19 p.m.