1 2
white_fly
white_fly HalfDork
6/30/20 7:47 p.m.

Soon I will be picking up AAZCD's Boxster and I've been attempting to figure out where it will fit into my life. I have a 1999 911 with 100 more horsepower for going quickly (and comfortably) and a Jaguar XJ-R for going comfortably (and quickly). I started thinking about a fun livery. That led me to Porsche's 804 F1 car, 718 RSK and 550 Spyder. They're all silver and they all used stamped steel wheels with skinny tires. 

I've always been fascinated by the way racing cars used to be driven with lots of slip angle. I assume that much of this is down to the use of bias ply tires. Could that feeling be recreated with a simple change of tires? They're sure to be expensive, but it would be something I've never done or even seen before. 

Pirelli, Avon and Dunlop all seem to have vintage looking radial tires that would absolutely fit the aesthetic I want, but would they actually handle like the old tires? I'm guessing not. In the meantime, here's the closest thing I've found to what I'm looking for.

Tom1200
Tom1200 Dork
6/30/20 9:18 p.m.

Most vintage tires, including vintage race tires are using modern tire compounds. I don't see it being an issue beyond what it might do to the gearing and ride height.

nderwater
nderwater UltimaDork
6/30/20 9:37 p.m.

So this is along the lines of something I’ve been wondering for a while now.  Conventional wisdom is that the first and most effective mod for a car is performance tires. I’ve added sticky tires to car after car—and I’m now thinking that the added noise and reduced tire life and ride comfort might not be worth it for a car that spends most of its life on the street.  Maybe I should try the opposite, with skinny slippery tires that let my car move around more in the corners.