trigun7469
trigun7469 Dork
11/4/15 9:36 a.m.

I am not quite at a crossroads but I know that a baby is certainly going to change my racing plans. I have been racing since 2001 on and off but in the recent 2 years I have been karting at a lesser extent, to accommodate renting a crap can seat. I currently have a low desire for karting because of the low kart count, growing expenses and generally more things to do at home. Other challenges have been constant changes with engines, classes, kart track, kart count, and friends leaving making it less desirable and having to hire an expert for setup due to lack of skills and time. I could change classes from 4cycle which less maintenance and reliable to Kt100 which has bigger fields, but more expensive and would require some setup help with an expert and more time. The negative with Kt100 is that it could hurt my budget for crap can racing, which I am able to balance with 4 cycle. I have raced with two different Crap Can teams, I have always been the fastest driver, but each time I am driving a new car out of the box with no testing and would like the potential idea of being a team owner and being able to have some control on the events and more track time. As a team owner, I would be looking team members that are wrenchers 1st, which may like to drive. Obviously, the expense of a car is different from a kart, when it comes to towing, gas, and tires, but engines and general maintenance items for karts are generally more expensive, because they are low production and you cannot just find them in a junkyard. On the other hand, as a crap can team owner, you have some assistance if you rent out a seat or have team members. You are also liable as a team owner, which could be stressful if you find the wrong person. I currently have a kart, which I can run 2 or 4cycle. Crapcan would require an investment; I would plan on buying a race ready Legal car FWD and lightweight to keep the costs down.
So what does the hive think?