1 2 3
eastside Utah Johnny Montana
eastside Utah Johnny Montana UltraDork
11/16/17 8:45 a.m.

I've been rallycrossing my Neon for several years now in Modified FWD.  At this point, it is pretty well developed, the suspension could use a refresh, but that's not surprising given it use.  I'm regionally competitive (won the class in 2016), with the exception of wae stomping all over me in his turbo Neon, when it's running.  At most events, I can usually pull off better raw times than a lot of the AWD competition (light weight, decent power, and appropriate tires can do wonders).  However, I'm feeling a bit stuck in a rut, as the best drivers in SA, PA, MA, and MR still tend to be ahead of me.  I find myself wondering if it's the car or the driver (probably both). 

If I keep the Neon, I could probably pick up .5-1 second on course by switching to custom axles, so I could put power down sooner coming out of turns without risking breakage.  Anything else to pick up a significant amount of time will either be expensive or reduce the car's reliability (I pride myself on having a car that doesn't tend to break, was very bummed I had one failure this past season), and I'd rather not go there.

It likely won't be able to happen this coming season, due to finances, but I've been considering a 2002-2007 WRX or STI, or even stretching and trying to find an Evo X.  Especially after seeing one in action on course earlier this year.  It'd be nice seeing how I stand against the sharper edge of the competition.  Problem is, I spend enough time making sure my Neon is solid enough to come out and play, I'm guessing any turbo AWD toy will require even more attention, not to mention the buy in cost.