1 2 3
Tom Suddard
Tom Suddard GRM+ Memberand Director of Marketing & Digital Assets
12/1/17 10:53 a.m.

[Editor's Note: This article originally ran in the February 2015 issue of Grassroots Motorsports, but the results are worth repeating. Some information may be different today.]

Photography by Tom Suddard and David S. Wallens

We’ve all seen them: giant, lumbering behemoths. They groan and struggle and sway, desperately clinging to what little stability they have.

No, we’re not talking about overweight dogs or someone’s pet hippo. We’re …

Read the rest of the story

mazdeuce - Seth
mazdeuce - Seth MegaDork
12/1/17 11:23 a.m.

So what you're telling me, what you're saying, is that a good driver can overcome terrible equipment, setup, and decisions? Because I'm a GREAT driver. laugh

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/1/17 11:43 a.m.
mazdeuce - Seth said:

So what you're telling me, what you're saying, is that a good driver can overcome terrible equipment, setup, and decisions? Because I'm a GREAT driver. laugh

That's a great takeaway. You have learned exactly what they hoped you would learn! Well done! laugh

rslifkin
rslifkin SuperDork
12/1/17 12:16 p.m.

An interesting thing on the car loaded backwards bit: depending on the length of the trailer vs the car and the trailer's axle placement, loading backwards is actually better in some cases.  Just move the car further forward on the trailer when you do it.  If stuff is positioned well, you end up with similar tongue weight but with less weight behind the trailer axles (ideally the heavy axle of the car should be pretty much right over the trailer axles or at least not behind the rear trailer axle).  

Given the ability to design my own car hauler, I'd push the axles back further than most and plan to load backwards.  It'll be more stable in the end but without the excessive tongue weight that loading forwards would give with the axles pushed back.  

Dr. Hess
Dr. Hess MegaDork