1 2 3
nimblemotorsports
nimblemotorsports Reader
11/22/19 5:01 p.m.

The gokart track thread was so interesting,  so here is another one for business ideas.

Maybe some of you remember, I have a lot of cars, I've downsized from 24 to 17 lately.

I have a 2000sf shop that is cheap and horrible, and have tried to move to the barn,

but the county come down on me and said no repairs, no unregistered cars.   So I have been looking for space to move into.

I am a retired software engineer, and these cars are my hobby, but the rent on space to keep them and work on them is too expensive.

So I am planning to rent a 4500 sf building, and need to come up with a business to run out of it to pay for it.

0.  Rent indoor storage space for classic cars.  (btw, a rv storage place is next door)

1.  Tow Company.   Buy a tow truck, hire a driver, tow and store some cars.  I hear this is a great business in demand.

2. R/C racing.  Indoor and Outdoor in Parking lot.   Seems horrible business.

3. Build Car Trailers.   Particularly the no-ramp drop-bed design I talked about before, I just finishing up building one.

4. Fabricate Race Cars.   Seems iffy

5. Build Electric Cars.   Same as above.

Or your own ideas.  Growing pot is not allowed, the market for hookers is already saturated in this area. ;)

Dave M
Dave M HalfDork
11/22/19 5:12 p.m.

Shouldn't you come up with the business first and rent the warehouse second?

I don't have much to add regarding your ideas, beyond that the trailer business does not seem lucrative unless you are at the high end. I got mine from Econo Trailer in Pennsylvania and they did not seem to be getting rich from the business. Maybe give them a call?

GIRTHQUAKE
GIRTHQUAKE HalfDork
11/22/19 5:21 p.m.

Building an electric vehicle of any stripe is very expensive, unless you came up with a method of building a Lowcost 7 using a wrecked Leaf or something similar that would be a cheap and attractive electro-track toy.