1 2 3
NickD
NickD UberDork
3/15/19 2:04 p.m.

So, the time has come to get some fresh rubber for my Miata. For those not in the know, it's got a Rotrex-blown BP that makes 245hp, so it's a bit traction limited. Last year I ran 225/45R15 BF Goodrich Rival S 1.5s on my 15x8 Jongbloeds, but that was insufficient. Last fall I grabbed some 15x9 Konig Dial-Ins for cheap when Good-Win had a crazy sale. Now I need new shoes.

Now, the car is both my DD (about 7 out of 12 months, I park it for the NY winters) and a frequent autocross car. I have a 3 mile commute to work, but all my autocrosses are an hour or more drive too. I also frequently roadtrip the car out of state and this year will likely be making a fair amount of drives to visit my girlfriend (90 miles one way). So, no, Hoosiers are not an option. I typically put 9000 miles on the car a season and can make a set of 200tw tires last that long.

Personally, I'm a 7/10 performance driver, so I'm not chasing every last tenth of a second. My car is underprepared for Super Street Mod, so I'm okay with running a 200tw tire. It really needs more spring rate and shock, but an unexpected transmission blowup killed my Fox budget this season, so I'm okay with running a cheaper tire, as tires aren't the weakest link and it'll help me save for better shocks and tires next year. Also, our SCCA region is a little odd. We have 3 sites, all with 60+ second courses with speeds in the 60-70mph range, and we typically get 8-10 runs an event. So, a CNY SCCA season is rough on tires

The pickings are slim in this size, really just 3 contestants, unless I'm missing something. If I am, chime in.