HappyAndy
HappyAndy Dork
7/2/12 3:37 p.m.

Sorry, no LSx, V12 or twin turbo content.I'm just looking for some pointers on basic repair and up-keep for my wifes e34 525i.

The drivers side power seat is having some issues, and my Bentley manual doesn't have much to say about it. I'm sure someone out there in the Bimmer universe knows all about repairing them DIY style, but which of the plethora of BMW community forums caters to that kind of stuff? I'm new to the Bimmer scene and don't know where to start. Thanks.

Javelin
Javelin GRM+ Memberand UltimaDork
7/2/12 3:38 p.m.

Just ask here. I bet 3 beers you'll get the right answer within 24 hours.

Cotton
Cotton Dork
7/2/12 3:45 p.m.

I don't think there is one. The Porsche scene has Pelican and Rennlist, which are both great, but I haven't found a decent BMW forum that wasn't also riddled with bullE36 M3....hope I'm wrong because I would like to see one too.

motomoron
motomoron Dork
7/2/12 3:45 p.m.

bimmerforums has a ton of info and of idiotic stuff kids say.

Pelican Parts has a forum w/ some info.

I'd start with some targeted searching - like "e34 maintenance", that sort of thing

02Pilot
02Pilot HalfDork
7/2/12 3:49 p.m.

If you decide to wade into Bimmerforums, go directly to the General BMW Mechanical Help subforum. That's where the real techs (dealer and indy) hang out, and there is a very good signal-to-noise ratio as a result.

irish44j
irish44j SuperDork
7/2/12 4:46 p.m.

RevLimited is mostly an e30 site, but I've generally found it to be helpful and friendly overall, as long as you stay out of off-topic and the general forums. It's pretty heavily moderated to keep the riff-raff and nonsense away. There is an E34/E28 section, but it doesn't really get much action. A lot of the e30 guys there would know about your questions there, I'm sure....and there is a lot of parts and maintenance crossovers in the models anyhow.