Skobie
Skobie New Reader
5/27/20 8:48 p.m.

Recently dove into the 20th century with my first "modern" mountain bike. I am running the stock tires and tubes (27.5 x 2.8) and good old fashioned air - I have not switched to tubeless. I know that the rims are "tubeless ready" but I don't know what that means vs "tubeless compatible", for example. Anyway, I noticed that, when filled with air, a 3-inch section of sidewall is bulging out, causing the fine rubber rib (?alignment rib) to pull away from the rim edge. When I deflate the tire, this same section moves freely inboard from the rim, but the rest of the tire seems almost glued to the rim, Again, I have no experience with tubeless ready, and was just expecting to deflate the tube, unbead the tire, and inspect the rim and tire - but I can't get that far.  

Any ideas?

ultraclyde (Forum Supporter)
ultraclyde (Forum Supporter) UltimaDork
5/27/20 8:54 p.m.

TR usually means that the inner rim strips will function to air seal the rim and all you have to do is put a little sealant in and add the valve stems.

Tubeless ready wheel and tire combos typically have a very tight, lock in type fit. Mine take a LOT of pressure and sometimes some soapy water to actually seat the bead. Like 90psi. And it sounds like a gun shot. That also means they can be HARD to get un seated, which is probably why it feels glued. The bulge? I'm not real sure what that's about...

Skobie
Skobie New Reader
5/27/20 9:04 p.m.

In reply to ultraclyde (Forum Supporter) :

wow - how the heck would i be able to do a trail fix on this in the future - does this mean I should really try to get switched over to full tubeless?

OjaiM5
OjaiM5 Reader
5/28/20 11:29 a.m.

Tubeless can be a pain in the arse to initially set-up but I totally prefer riding it.

In order for you to convert, the rim has to be sealed tape usually a company like stans no tubes or similar. You will need two valve stems made for tubeless and finally tire sealer (stans, orange seal ect)