JoeyM
JoeyM SuperDork
2/12/11 2:58 p.m.

OK, everybody knows that you guys are the world's biggest bunch of enablers. You and I both understand that, "talk me out of it" is code for "Why should I do this?" With that in mind....

I've been working on my Datsun replica for a few years. It was originally supposed to be a challenge vehicle, but there's no way I could finish it the way I want and be on budget.

Recently, though, I've been toying with the idea of entering it in an unfinished form, and then redoing it later in the manner I really want. (i.e. sort of like the Misfit Toys Wartburg.) My car would be in the 'specials' category, anyway, and that means I don't need functional lights, horn, turn signals, etc. Specials don't need windshields, either. They usually have gutted interiors, too. All those things save money, and might make it possible to finish under budget.

OK, if the budget is not an issue, then time becomes one: If I did try to enter, the car would be there in a rough and rather ugly form. There's no way I could fabricate the rest of the body, get the engine running, and prep and paint it.

Should I register for the $2011 challenge, knowing in advance that my ability to finish a car in that time is questionable? "Talk me out of it"

aussiesmg
aussiesmg SuperDork
2/12/11 3:09 p.m.

See you in Gainesville

914Driver
914Driver SuperDork
2/12/11 3:29 p.m.

I'm confused by the question.

SVreX
SVreX SuperDork
2/12/11 3:42 p.m.

You're in Orlando and you're expecting US to talk you out of it? I'm confused.

914Driver
914Driver SuperDork
2/12/11 3:45 p.m.
SVreX wrote: You're in Orlando and you're expecting US to talk you out of it? I'm confused.

I drove 1200 miles just to blow it up in the parking lot, still I would do it again.

So what's your question?

oldtin
oldtin Dork
2/12/11 3:54 p.m.

You already have an engine mounted on a chassis with suspension. What's left - a few wires, a seat, exhaust and a steering wheel. See ya there.

Wally