1 2 3
Toyman01
Toyman01 GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
10/23/11 6:43 p.m.

The family went camping with the Cub Scouts this weekend. Other than being a little cold at night, we had a great time.

Here's the problem.

The wagon handled the load, but it was loaded. All the gear and food for 5 people, in the cold, for three days takes up a lot of space.

I have a utility trailer but decided not to use it. To say the car was full, is an understatement.

Problem two is campground bathrooms are horrible. Not moderately horrible, but all the way horrible. Smelly, no shower, or always out of hot water. We also used to do some camping at unimproved sites with no restrooms at all. Not going to happen with the wife anymore. So I need/want to take some of the rough out of roughing it.

The solution is an idea I've been kicking around for a few years. I'm going to build a box or boxes that go in my utility trailer. It will hold all the hard gear like tables, chairs, cooking supplies, tent, canopy, and so on. It will also have a water tank, hot water heater, toilet, and some kind of shower arrangement and house batteries for camp lighting, water pump and minimal power requirements. The camp kitchen will be mounted to the trailer along with the ice box/coolers. Might also include some kind of furnace arrangement to dump a little heat in the tent for those super cold camp outs (The next one is in January.) and possibly a generator.

Basically, I'm looking to build something like this.

http://www.minicampingtrailer.com

But larger. I've got a 4X8X2 foot space to work with. I don't want another trailer, and I don't want to go all out travel trailer. Travel trailers burn too much gas, and are a major undertaking to haul to the mountains for a weekend. I would never use it enough to justify the expense of owning it. Besides I kind of like sleeping in a tent.

Thoughts, ideas, suggestions? Anyone done something like this before?

poopshovel
poopshovel SuperDork
10/23/11 7:10 p.m.