Login Register Sign up for the GRM e-newsletter

Login to post Forums » Off-topic discussion » Anyone live near 851 W. Henderson Rd., Columbus, OH 43214?
  • MrJoshua

    Nov. 6, 2009 6:16 a.m. MrJoshua UltraDork

    I am considering a purchase from an online retailer discountedmart.com. They have a fancy website, but pretty much run the site with little to no human involvement. The prices are outstanding, but before I send them any money, confirmation of an actual business location would be nice. They claim to at least have a warehouse at the following location.

    851 W. Henderson Rd., Columbus, OH 43214.

    Thanks, Josh

  • Mike Honcho

    Nov. 6, 2009 6:23 a.m. Mike Honcho MegaDork

    In reply to MrJoshua:

    According to GooglMaps the addres is for Uncle Bobs Self Storage...

    Warehouse? Okay, sure...

    Business? Someones...

    Run? Like Forrest.

    View Larger Map

  • Datsun1500

    Nov. 6, 2009 6:32 a.m. Datsun1500 Dork

    Type it into google and do a street view. No warehouse there.....

  • jrw1621

    Nov. 6, 2009 7:04 a.m. jrw1621 Dork

    You can get $29 off your first months rent

    http://www.lock-n-key.com/store.asp?code=OHHEN

  • zoomx2

    Nov. 6, 2009 7:28 a.m. zoomx2 Reader

    There is no listing for that site on resellerratings.com. Not a good sign....

  • Giant Purple Snorklewacker

    Nov. 6, 2009 7:39 a.m. Giant Purple Snorklewacker Dork

    Did you call them? I sell racing brake pads and some other things out of a business that has its only address as a box in the UPS Store. My "warehouse" is my race car trailer.

    It might just be a guy keeping his overhead low so he can sell at ridiculously low prices as a way to offset his own racing addiction ;)

  • MrJoshua

    Nov. 6, 2009 8:11 a.m. MrJoshua UltraDork

    Giant Purple Snorklewacker wrote:

    Did you call them? I sell racing brake pads and some other things out of a business that has its only address as a box in the UPS Store. My "warehouse" is my race car trailer.

    It might just be a guy keeping his overhead low so he can sell at ridiculously low prices as a way to offset his own racing addiction ;)

    I think it is exactly that type of thing. Prices are about 1/2 of other online retailers and items appear to be from buying out other retailers inventory when the model changes or the store close, etc... The issue is the lack of actual human involvement. Generic answering machines, slow to answer emails, etc... I am about to give up on them, I just want to make sure I am not passing up a phenomenal deal first. J

  • mad_machine

    Nov. 6, 2009 8:58 a.m. mad_machine PowerDork

    sounds like a one man operation. When I worked for a furniture store back in college.. We were a 5 man operation. Owner, 1 sales guy (owner helped) two drivers/delivery people and me, I managed the warehouse and helped deliver. I went to work at a self storage place.

    that is right.. it was cheaper for us to rent half a building at a self storage place than to have our own dedicated storage building.

  • jrw1621

    Nov. 6, 2009 9:11 a.m. jrw1621 Dork

    http://www.bbb.org/centralohio/business-reviews/discount-stores/discounted-mart-in...

    It seems that the Columbus Better Business Bureau is looking into these guys. No real results but seems to imply that there may be an identity theft angle.

    More dirt here:
    http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2311912

  • sjc

    Nov. 6, 2009 11:16 a.m. sjc None

    Hey guys, my first post. I live kinda close to Henderson Rd and can say that there really aren't any warehouses as such there. There is the self storage place as pointed out above.

    IMO, the prices are too good to be true. A new sony 46" XBR6 for $700? That's less than a refurbed one from the sony outlet.

  • MrJoshua

    Nov. 6, 2009 12:19 p.m. MrJoshua UltraDork

    Interesting about the BBB. I checked the BBB website a few weeks ago and got nothing. I also searched google and got one post on one forum looking for info. Seems quite a bit has happened in the last few weeks. Looks like I am not the only one getting sucked in by low prices. Ah well, sounds too good to be true, usually is. I am curious about calling Uncle Bobs Self Storage to see what their take on this place is. SJC-Feel like going to poke around? It sounds like the internet would thank you.

  • Marjorie Suddard

    Nov. 6, 2009 1:45 p.m. Marjorie Suddard General Manager

    I called Uncle Bob's Self Storage, which is located at this address, and spoke with the manager about DiscountedMart.com. "Do NOT do business with them,” he said. “That business does not exist and is a SCAM."

    Uncle Bob's has taken several calls from people looking for DiscountedMart.com, and the manager said he felt for the folks who had been taken in by them. He's also upset because the scammers appropriated his legitimate business's address and caused him all sorts of headaches, including the phone calls from people who found his number through search engines using the address. (Although the manager gave me his name, he asked that it not be used in a public forum due to the identity theft issues he was already facing. ) Uncle Bob's Self Storage has already taken several steps to reverse the damage done by this identity theft, including reporting DiscountedMart.com to the BBB, but the manager said he'd appreciate any help spreading the word.

    Margie

  • Mike Honcho

    Nov. 6, 2009 2:01 p.m. Mike Honcho MegaDork

    You see THIS is why you should support small businesses like GRM.

  • Marjorie Suddard

    Nov. 6, 2009 2:29 p.m. Marjorie Suddard General Manager

    Aw, shucks. I'm just nosey.

    Margie

  • jrw1621

    Nov. 6, 2009 3:42 p.m. jrw1621 Dork

    Well done Agent 99.

  • MrJoshua

    Nov. 6, 2009 3:50 p.m. MrJoshua UltraDork

    I love this forum! Thank you Margie!

  • cwh

    Nov. 6, 2009 4:36 p.m. cwh SuperDork

    There are soooo many ways to have your money stolen. Having this happen in connection with our hobby is just wrong. And nothing we can really do about it, is there?

  • Nov. 8, 2009 2:03 p.m. Lan

    Yes, this is definitely a scam! Do not buy from them! They used to be liquidationdepot.net and scammed lots of folks. If you did get scammed, please go to http://www.complaintsboard.com/?search=liquidationdepot&everything=Everything and look up RJlaw's comments. He is collecting info from everyone who got scammed. Lan

  • MrJoshua

    Nov. 8, 2009 6:59 p.m. MrJoshua UltraDork

    Nope, didn't get scammed. I was really really really tempted though. Man o Man did someone put a lot of time and effort into that website. I guess all of the $500 plus payments make it worthwhile. That complaintsboard website is depressing.

 

You'll need to log in to post.