1 2 3 ... 6
z31maniac
z31maniac SuperDork
2/18/11 9:07 a.m.

I'm going crazy not having a project car (saving up to build an LSx powered E30) at the moment and have been wanting to get a gun or two and started wondering if there gun kits, of course, I know now that they exist.

However, being a relative noob to firearms, I have NO idea about what companies are reputable, good quality. Or if I would need any special tools to assemble one? Or if it's even a project I should do since I'm still learning? It seems that an improperly assembled firearm would be a horrific danger.

But I figured if I can strip/rebuild/swap an E30 in a gravel driveway, I could handle a gun kit.

What say the GRM gun enthusiasts?

triumph5
triumph5 Dork
2/18/11 9:15 a.m.

NO. You can screw up a rebuild on an engine, trans, wheel hub, etc...do the same on an automatic AR-15 and you risk losing your hands or life. I would be like, "hhmmm, never built a pipe bomb before to get rid of that stump, I'll just throw some black powder into this pipe, tamp it down nice'n' compact with this metal mallet..."

NO, no, no. Find something else. Like, if you can build an E30, why not an airplane for you and your family??

Seen too much of this type of thinking splattered all over.

pilotbraden
pilotbraden HalfDork
2/18/11 9:19 a.m.

Read a book about assembling the gun of your choice. Most guns require some specialized tools but they appear to be simple to make.

z31maniac
z31maniac SuperDork
2/18/11 9:24 a.m.