1 2
CarKid1989
CarKid1989 SuperDork
11/3/13 7:28 p.m.

Well, its been a while since the event and i wanted to share my experiences on Asphault Adventures inaugural event "Explore the Shore."

see: Explore the Shore thread

Asphault Adventure website

I signed up on a whim the last day of registration. I am a full time student in school, working two jobs, and getting free time just seemed too tough to secure. None the less I registered and sent my fees in. I was hoping registration would be full so i would have an easy out of going...the week of the event i had a major exam in all my classes and i knew it would be a killer week.

My registration was accepted. Time to find a vehicle.

I pickup up a two for one motorcycle deal (Honda CX500 and a GL500) and I figured i could make it work for the trip. I knew the bike needed a fair amount of work but i figured since i work at a bike shop that would be no problem. Boy was i wrong. Work kept coming, school kept me busy and i found myself two weeks before the event needing to get the bike together. I ordered in a few basic parts and got the bike in to get it running. The GL500 had a title and looked decent enough to make the trip, the CX was too rough to make anything happen. I tore into the GL500 and found it had lowwww compression and part of the wiring harness was melted. That sealed the fate for taking either of those bikes.

The next day I spent hours on craigslist and ended up finding a Suzuki Bandit that the seller was willing to part with for beater class money. Awesome. We agree on a price and that i would call the next day to pick it up. Overnight, the seller disappeared. No response from him at all. That bike was out too.

I bought a beater that same week but that one was out of the running because it would not run for more then 45 minutes then shut off. Questionable brakes too.

soooooo....