ScreaminE
ScreaminE HalfDork
1/15/15 9:12 a.m.

Trying to find something other than a space heater to heat my attached garage. My garage is attached to the basement, below the kids' bedrooms, so I don't want to be sending up major fumes.

Any thoughts?

SyntheticBlinkerFluid
SyntheticBlinkerFluid PowerDork
1/15/15 9:15 a.m.

One of those ceiling mount heaters that vents to the outside?

slowride
slowride Reader
1/15/15 9:20 a.m.

My dad installed one of these a few years ago: http://www.northerntool.com/shop/tools/product_200442160_200442160?cm_mmc=Google-pla--Heaters%2C%20Stoves%20%2B%20Fireplaces--Dual-Fuel:%20Gas%20%2B%20Propane%20Heaters-_-177217&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=177217&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=177217&gclid=CLivzdyllsMCFfNZ7AodV10ASw

(hope that long ass link works)

It's tied in to the house natural gas. I'm unsure about fumes but it seems like it's less than the kerosene heater he used to use.

ScreaminE
ScreaminE HalfDork
1/15/15 9:29 a.m.

I work in the natural gas industry but my home doesn't have gas.

T.J.
T.J. PowerDork
1/15/15 9:48 a.m.
ScreaminE wrote: my home doesn't have gas.

Eat more fiber.

The
The HalfDork
1/15/15 9:53 a.m.

I have the same problem, my hvac guy was at my house and I jokingly said something about it, he showed me the square duct on the ceiling of the garage he said all you have to do is cut in a register (where the air comes out) when your cold open it, when your not close it, I live in the south so I cannot justify heating my garage, if its above 40 outside I can work in there after you get moving around and get warm. but I might try putting in that register.

jimbob_racing
jimbob_racing Dork
1/15/15 9:57 a.m.

Check on Amazon for 220 volt electric heaters. They have both wall and ceiling mount.

Ian F
Ian F MegaDork
1/15/15 10:07 a.m.

How big is the garage? How well sealed is the garage door? How big is the garage door? There are too many variables to say what will be an adequate option.