Mr_Asa
Mr_Asa GRM+ Memberand Dork
8/4/20 3:30 p.m.

Figured a positive thread might be a good one to have around here with all the crap that is going on in the world.

I can't go into it that much as the project is still in development, but I work as a defense contractor.  I, along with a few others on my team, met with the troops last summer and saw them using our products in the field while doing a semi-annual training.  While we were there we noticed a few things we could do to make their lives easier and hopefully make them more effective in their jobs.  I took the lead on it and have developed a plan to present to the govt for approval.

The project is still in the early stages, but it is making its way through the US govt and seems to be a very popular idea.  It looks like it should be in the field and helping the troops in the next two years or so.

einy (Forum Supporter)
einy (Forum Supporter) Dork
8/4/20 5:52 p.m.

I taught my daughter’s boyfriend how to repair his car’s exhaust system, so that has to count for something.

1988RedT2
1988RedT2 MegaDork
8/4/20 6:01 p.m.

Today I'm helping my son replace the power window regulator in his E39 BMW 530i. 

It ain't much, but it's somethin'.

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
8/4/20 7:45 p.m.

I haven't killed anyone. Even if they deserved it.

Curtis73 (Forum Supporter)
Curtis73 (Forum Supporter) GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
8/4/20 9:49 p.m.

Taught my nephews how to drive a manual yesterday.  They both knocked it out of the park.

Cleaned out the house and donated a ton of stuff to Salvation Army.  Nothing individual was worth much, but total it was probably a couple grand that can be passed along to someone for pennies who actually needs it.

Donated blood

Helped a buddy with Cancer build a deck