RossD
RossD PowerDork
8/17/15 10:25 a.m.

So I have a Raspberry Pi 2 coming in the mail this week. I'm kind of excited about it, but I'm know sure what I'm going to do with it yet.

I know there are a couple of people here that have them and I'm wondering what it is you do with them?

For those not in the know, it's a tiny $35 computer originally designed for teaching kids about computers, but it now has a big following for all kinds of DIY projects. They usually run a Linux/Unix operating system with usually free to use software.

Grtechguy
Grtechguy UltimaDork
8/17/15 10:32 a.m.

HTPC seems to be a common theme

RossD
RossD PowerDork
8/17/15 10:37 a.m.

So like Kodi/XBMC? I'm basically a total noob with anything Linux. I install Ubuntu on my 11 year old desktop and I can't keep it from locking up long enough to do much with it so I kind of gave up on that for the moment (Its just my basement workshop computer.)

asoduk
asoduk Reader
8/17/15 10:42 a.m.

I have one in my garage. It allows me to control my garage door from my phone, and also can has the camera module so I can see if my door is open/closed. I had it acting as a pandora player as well, but stopped doing that as it never sounded great. They do work as desktops/HTPCs, but I think their real power is in using the GPIO to control things.

RossD
RossD PowerDork
8/17/15 10:54 a.m.

I've looked into doing some temperature logging using either the general GPIO or using the I2C feature and having a bunch of DS18B20 temp sensors.

slowride
slowride HalfDork
8/17/15 10:56 a.m.

I used mine as a Squeezebox replacement for a while. I'm planning to convert it over to Airplay soon though. I got the Wolfson DAC add on card last year, but I stalled out getting all the drivers etc into the distro and stopped messing with it for a while.

monknomo
monknomo New Reader
8/17/15 12:01 p.m.

I did a MAME setup with one and use the other as a host for Xymon, so I can tell when my other computers are acting up

ProDarwin