pinchvalve
pinchvalve GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/19/19 11:11 a.m.

I'm looking for some home remedy advice from other old-timers like me. I'm new to the world of minivans, and I'm having an issue now that the weather has turned cold. The rubber seals around the door freeze and hold the door closed. I'm thinking there's something to apply to the rubber seals to prevent them from freezing and sticking. Petroleum jelly? Silicone lubricant? Chicken soup? This had to be a common problem up north. 

Fueled by Caffeine
Fueled by Caffeine MegaDork
12/19/19 11:12 a.m.

Spray seals with wd40.  Well really put on a rag and wipe on the seals. Dont have wd40?  Basically any spray oil silicone will work.  

The internets will tell you that seals will dry out, your cows will dry up, your fields will become barren and dead goats will rain from the sky if you do this because "the seals will dry out"  these people dont live up north. 

Streetwiseguy
Streetwiseguy MegaDork
12/19/19 11:12 a.m.

Shotgun?

Duke
Duke MegaDork
12/19/19 11:14 a.m.
Fueled by Caffeine said:

Spray seals with wd40

This.  Doesn't hurt to do the lock cylinders and mechanisms, too.

GameboyRMH
GameboyRMH GRM+ Memberand MegaDork
12/19/19 11:54 a.m.

Silicone spray is a chemically safer choice than WD40. Both will prevent ice from sticking but you can be sure the silicone won't degrade the door seal rubber.

jimbbski
jimbbski SuperDork
12/19/19 11:59 a.m.
GameboyRMH said:

Silicone spray is a chemically safer choice than WD40. Both will prevent ice from sticking but you can be sure the silicone won't degrade the door seal rubber.

In fact the silicone keeps the rubber seals from drying out over time.

Fueled by Caffeine
Fueled by Caffeine MegaDork
12/19/19 12:01 p.m.

In reply to GameboyRMH :

does it really?  do you have experience?

I'll wait while you find evidence...  

**Micheal Jackson eating popcon.gif**

914Driver
914Driver MegaDork
12/19/19 12:05 p.m.