DrBoost
DrBoost MegaDork
8/17/19 7:45 p.m.

I’m looking to buy a used “telephoto” (?) lense for our Nikon D60. We are looking to capture wildlife on a trip to Alaska. 

What do you recommend?  

EDIT: It is a D60, not a D50. I don't think this makes a difference, but I wanted the correct info out there.

kabel
kabel Dork
8/17/19 8:30 p.m.

Probably this one, it is the most compatible it seems:
Nikon AF-P DX NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-6.3G Ed Lens

I think that is actually what I used on my trip to Alaska back in 2009.

Lens rental is also an option people do not typically think about.

TJL
TJL Reader
8/17/19 8:38 p.m.

Im no pro, just a guy with a camera, but this one is quite nice for the price.  

https://www.amazon.com/Tamron-70-300mm-4-0-5-6-Digital-A17NII/dp/B0012UUP02/ref=sr_1_7?keywords=nikon+lens&qid=1566092043&s=photo&sr=1-7

my brother does do professional photo work and has very expensive stuff, he was impressed by that cheap tamron. Oh i actually bought one and use it occasionally.  Its made me want to use my camera much more so than before. 

02Pilot
02Pilot SuperDork
8/17/19 8:42 p.m.

OK, questions. How far away do you expect to be? Are you driving/hiking/taking a cruise? Does size and weight matter? Do you want/need autofocus (and stabilization - I don't know if that's in-lens or in-body on Nikons)? What do you want to do with the photos: make poster-size prints/make small prints/post online? What's your price range?

DrBoost
DrBoost MegaDork
8/18/19 5:47 a.m.

As far aa distance, I don’t think much more then 100-150 yards?  I don’t know if we would even know that there is something to shoot at more than 150 yards????  But I’m only guessing. 

We’ll be hiking, and a cruise. Size and weight don’t matter to me. And as far as price, I’m dipping my toe in the water to see if we can afford it. If I found a lense for $100, yeah, we’d do it. If the price of entry was $500, I think we’d have to pass.