ratghia
ratghia Reader
4/4/10 4:49 p.m.

I now work at a Volkswagen/Audi dealership that leans towards higher performance cars. I am going to be doing oil changes and other basic maintenance jobs. I will also go and clean/detail all the cars on the lot once a week. The dealership has a lot of cool cars. They have an Audi S4 avant, GMC Syclone, and a Golf R32. It isn’t what I want to do for a living, but it should be fun for over the summer.

914Driver
914Driver SuperDork
4/4/10 5:02 p.m.

Good on you!!

There's more to a job than a paycheck! Feels good doesn't it? Be polite, professional, make contacts.

Good news for a change.

Dan

minimac
minimac Dork
4/4/10 5:12 p.m.

Holy cow! What's this kid gonna do with some cash?!!?

Marty!
Marty! HalfDork
4/4/10 5:16 p.m.

Congrats! you never know about the future though, I know of a couple dealerships that will pay to educate (i.e. ASE tests and certification) the right employee with a good attitude.

Make sure you make the best of those employee discounts.

ratghia
ratghia Reader
4/4/10 5:37 p.m.

He has already told me that if I decided to we can make it a more long term thing. I think I want to get a feel for it first thought to see if I like it or not. My first day it Tuesday. I am going to be finishing up the re-installation of the interior in a 1976 Z28 with only 9,000 original miles.

I also forgot to say that there is a storage unit with several Euro-Tuner feature cars.

patgizz
patgizz GRM+ Memberand SuperDork
4/4/10 5:43 p.m.

lesson 1:

there is no such thing as a 1976 Z28 :)

ratghia
ratghia Reader
4/4/10 5:56 p.m.

I didn't know there wasn't a Z28 in 1976. The car is a 1977.

porksboy
porksboy Dork
4/4/10 8:05 p.m.

Weather you intend to make this a career choice or not learn every thing you can about every thing you can, car related or not. It will be good experience in your next job.

81gtv6
81gtv6 GRM+ Memberand HalfDork
4/5/10 10:25 a.m.