1 2
trigun7469
trigun7469 Dork
1/4/16 3:14 p.m.

I decided on my way home for lunch that I would put my 4wd on my truck to test it. I made a right hand turn on my street which is never cleaned and very icy and I did a 180 degree turn. I was completely surprised and dumb founded. There was no grip and I was going below 15MPH. Luckily there was no one on the road, but holy E36 M3, I have never in my life spun on the road, very few times have I spun during races without a little help. I just a word of caution, as the snow starts to fly...

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
1/4/16 3:19 p.m.

I found out the hard way. 16 years old and traveling with the family in the 86 Suburban towing a short coupled pup trailer. Hit ice and that nasty little trailer wiped us around so fast I barely started to counter-steer. Into the ditch at 60-SIDEWAYS. I didn't sleep much on the way home after the old man gave me the boot into the back.

slefain
slefain UberDork
1/4/16 3:35 p.m.

When I was 16 I had a S10 Blazer 4WD. We got a nice layer of snow/ice and so I told Dad I would make a grocery run in my obviously unstoppable 4WD vehicle. Dad chuckled and told me to hop in the Blazer and he was driving. We headed to the nearby middle school parking lot which was a sheet of ice. We swapped seats and he told me to drive across the lot in 2WD. We crossed the lot with a little slippage but nothing bad. Then he told me to put it in 4WD-Lo and do it again. We did pirouettes across the parking lot. He then told me that all 4WD will do in the slippery stuff is make all the wheels spin at once. Lesson learned.

When we had the snowpocalyble here in Atlanta two years ago I was thrilled to be an underpowered FWD car. I passed a Wrangler on a hill that had all four wheels spinning like hell as I just ambled on by in my Camry.

edizzle89
edizzle89 HalfDork
1/4/16 3:56 p.m.
slefain wrote: He then told me that all 4WD will do in the slippery stuff is make all the wheels spin at once. Lesson learned.